Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

JRCNMT History

The Joint Review Committee on Educational Programs in Nuclear Medicine Technology (JRCNMT) was formed in the late 1960’s by six professional organizations related to the newly forming profession of nuclear medicine technology. With the decrease in laboratory procedures, the two clinical laboratory collaborating agencies relinquished their relationship with the JRCNMT in 1994. Current collaborating agencies include the American College of Radiologists, the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging and the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Technologist Section.

The Essentials of an Accredited Educational Program for the Nuclear Medicine Technologist was originally adopted by the collaborating organizations in 1969. The Essentials was substantially revised in 1976, 1984, 1991, 1997 and 2003. In 2010 the Essentials was revised and the document renamed Accreditation Standards for Nuclear Medicine Technologist Education.

The JRCNMT, in collaboration with the AMA Council of Medical Education (CME), began accrediting educational programs for nuclear medicine technologists in 1970. In 1976, the CME delegated to the newly formed Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation (CAHEA) the responsibility and authority for allied health education accreditation in collaboration with the respective review committees. Following the dissolution of CAHEA in 1994, the JRCNMT assumed the responsibilities for the accreditation of nuclear medicine technology programs as an independent accrediting agency.